Board of Directors

Guiding us forward

The support and focus of our board members keep us headed in the right direction. We thank them from our hearts for the time, energy, and creativity they pour into their commitment to The Institute.

  • James E. Fleagle, President
  • Caroline Royer, Vice President
  • Renee Preso, Treasurer
  • Sean McFarland, Secretary
    Matt Baker
  • Maxine Beck
  • Tom Beck
  • Andy Everetts
  • John M. Foreman, Jr.
    Jay Healy
    Jeb Keller
  • Catherine Myers
  • Debbie Pflager
    Jason E. Piatt
  • Kim Shockey
  • Arlene Unger

The Institute Board of Directors—

Left to right: Andy Everetts, Jay Healy, James Fleagle, Tom Beck, Debbie Pflager, Jeb Keller, Maxine Beck, Sean McFarland, Renee Preso, Matt Baker, Caroline Royer, Catherine Myers.
Inset—missing from group photo, left to right: Donna Haugh, John Hershey, Judy Papoutsis.



The people who make it happen

Offering an in-depth, hands-on experience that blends environmental and cultural learning requires the expertise of many people. Meet the folks who make The Institute experience possible.

  • Tracy Holliday, Executive Director
  • Jessica Watson, Assistant Director
  • Melodie Anderson-Smith, Director of
    Environmental Studies
    Pam Rowland, Director of Historical Studies
  • Beverly McFarland, Accounts Manager
  • Andrea Struble, Director of Public Relations
  • Jen Atkinson, Faculty
    Melanie Desmond, Faculty
    Doris Goldman, Faculty and
          Director Emeritus of Four-Square Garden
    Melissa Irwin, Faculty and
         Director of Four-Square Garden
    Julie Patterson, Faculty
    Beth Skroban, Faculty and
         Director of Textile Studies
    Nora Slick, Faculty
    Lynn Teach, Faculty

The Institute Faculty and Staff—

Left to right, front row: Anne Smith, Doris Goldman, Beth Skroban, Nora Slick, Melodie Anderson-Smith.
Back row: Tracy Holliday, Lynn Teach, Julie Patterson, Melanie Desmond, Jen Atkinson, Pam Rowland, Jessica Watson.

Inset—missing from group photo: Beverly McFarland, Kristie Rhodes, Andrea Struble.